From Your Lower Back to My Rib Cage

“Beautiful, ugly, funny, boring, smart or not, my vulnerability is my ultimate strength.” – Amy Schumer, The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo

Just finished Amy Schumer’s recently released “The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo” and I thoroughly enjoyed everyamy-schumer-book-cover part: the lists, the parts that made my heart hurt, and especially the laughing out loud.

Everyone should give this book a shot in my opinion, even if Schumer hasn’t always been your cup of tea. All girls have someone to look up to in Amy, she is so honest about issues that every female deals with and to see someone admit to those things (insecurity, abuse, etc.) and still stand up tall and smile is inspiring. Men have a lot they could learn from her too – flashing lights – here’s some insight in to women from someone who is honest AF. Many men in this world could use a sneak peak in to the challenges women face and the questions they still have for the men in their lives.

Even though she isn’t setting out to teach anyone a lesson, I still think you could pick up at least one or two. Whether you need to be reminded where hard work can get you, or that you aren’t the only one with parents who messed you up some how, or that every single human goes on a terrible date at some point, or most importantly, how you can affect the narratives surrounding the protrayl of women in the media or gun violence in America, there is bound to be something you can get out of Amy’s stories.

I really loved getting to know Amy Schumer in this way. I love that she is introverted (unexpected), likes her nights in, orders Chinese food regularly (it seems), and is a real person. I was already a fan of her stand-up, she cracks me the fuck up, but I think I appreciate her even more after learning about the different sides of her, in the way she cared to share them with us.

You run the risk, and I’m using “run the risk” because who doesn’t imagine their favorite celebrity is just perfect all the time; you run the risk of losing some of the love you have for someone you look up to when you find out all the ins and outs of their lives, but Amy Schumer killed it and I only feel more like she is someone I feel proud to look up to.

If you aren’t Amy’s biggest fan like I apparently am then here’s this: read this book for the fact that she is a fantastic motivator. Read the chapter about her hustle and you’ll be reminded that you’re not putting enough effort in to your dream. She, in the easiest of terms, is here to remind you that you can get anywhere you want in life if you put in the hours. Read this book if you need a kick in the ass to get you going. She’s going to remind you that if you really want something the road might suck, but you have to keep going if you want to get to the prize at the end. And she’ll remind you in the most realistic, you’ll probably cry in a bathroom at some point along the way if we are all being honest, kind of way. Which is the best way in my opinion.

Here is my Goodreads review. And here is a link to my reviews archive.

2 thoughts on “From Your Lower Back to My Rib Cage

  1. Amy Schumer has said & done some problematic things recently (and probably in the past as well), but I do admire her and how far she’s come. I’ve watched every episode of her show, most of her specials, and her movie. So yeah, I’m kind of a big fan lol. I think I’d like to read this one as an audiobook.

    Like

    1. She definitely isn’t perfect but I think the thing that I admire most about her is her honesty and her willingness to own every thing she is. I hate to admit I haven’t even see Trainwreck 😁 I need to watch!

      Like

Leave a Reply

