Chapter 49 – Let’s Try This Again

Alright so (obviously) my big, exciting travel blog didn’t work out the way I had planned. And it pretty much boils down to one reason: why would I be writing, re-writing, and re-writing again blog posts that take hours and might skim the surface of my life here, but still not really, truly convey all the things I want it to, when I could be reading a book? I do like to write, but I’m no expert and I’d rather enjoy someone else’s masterpiece.

I ask myself that a lot, why would I be doing “that” if I could be reading a book?

The only time I really pause in my reading (between books) is to write my Goodreads reviews. I mean there are times I’m not reading; I might be planning our next trip, or practicing yoga, or watching Netflix, but really I just do those things when I need some time to digest all the words I just took in. Or, you all know how it is, when you get a book hangover because you thought you’d give your credit card a rest and download something free off Kind Unlimited…

I digress; if the only time I’m writing is when I update my Goodreads reviews, why isn’t THAT the focus of this blog? I mean, it partially is. Ways to Adventure: one of those “ways” being on the pages of a good book. But all along that’s what I should’ve been writing about; instead of focusing solely on travel stories, how about what I’m reading as I travel and how the two affect one another?

I have always associated books and events or places, a lot of those memories will always be tied. That’s why I’m definitely not the only one who read The Beach by Alex Garland when getting on a flight to Thailand.

Last weekend I was reading The Magicians by Lev Grossman on a dark bus on a rural Thai highway, how can you not start to believe in magic in the dark? I read the Kindness of Strangers by Mike McIntyre as I took off on my first ever solo trip. I read Pamela Des Barres’ first book “I’m With The Band”, on an afternoon bus ride while listening to my man Steven Tyler and imagining what it would’ve been like to hop a Greyhound to make it an Aerosmith concert in 1982. A lot of my memories will always be rooted in books.

I read the Kindness of Strangers by Mike McIntyre as I took off on my first ever solo trip. I read Pamela Des Barres’ first book “I’m With The Band”, on an afternoon bus ride while listening to my man Steven Tyler and imagining what it would’ve been like to hop a Greyhound to make it an Aerosmith concert in 1982. A lot of my memories will always be rooted in books.

I read Pamela Des Barres’ first book “I’m With The Band”, on an afternoon bus ride while listening to my man Steven Tyler and imagining what it would’ve been like to hop a Greyhound to make it an Aerosmith concert in 1982. A lot of my memories will always be rooted in books.

A lot of my memories will always be rooted in books.

Well, I’m living a book lover’s dream right now: I have plenty of free time and lots of exotic settings in which to enjoy exotic stories. I have plenty of recommendations and I am asked often, but I need to hear all of yours because I’m flying through these books like someone has been starving me of literature for years.

I’m going to start a new chapter here; I hate odd numbers but I’m jumping to chapter 49 AKA The Magicians by Lev Grossman, the 49th book I’ve read since being in Thailand. Chapter 49 is a fresh start for the blog so I hope you guys don’t mind jumping in here. But don’t worry, I’ve basically included a Wiki for chapters 1-48 on the Past Reads & Fictional Places  page so you can browse through all the other books I’ve read so far. You can also check out my past Goodreads reviews here.

Up Next in Books:

Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer

The Magician King (Book #2) – Lev Grossman

[finishing] A Walk in the Woods – Bill Bryson

Up Next in Travel:

Doi Inthanon (Chom Thong District, Chiang Mai Province) – the highest peak in Thailand (2,565m)

Check out the rest of my site, especially the Places I’ve Been and the Places I’m Going – I need your recommendations for books to read before and during my upcoming travels!

Leave a Reply

