Diving Right In!

That is actual a total lie, I am not diving right in. I’ve been trying to write this post for about a month and I just could not even figure out how to start.

I’ve found a quote that perfectly expresses the two things this blog will be about:

“Books are the plane, and the train, and the road. They are the destination, and the journey. They are home.”

– Anna Quindlen, “How Reading Changed My Life” from a 1998 contribution to the Library of Contemporary Thought series and read in A Passion for Books edited by Harold Rabinowitz & Rob Kaplan, 1999. 

This blog is bringing to life a rule I like to live by (“If you can’t travel read, but if you can than leave”), and one that I’d have to bet more than one of you can relate to.

There is actually much more to this quote above (I will share at a later date), but this portion has specifically captured the essence of waystoadventure and speaks so well to the life rule I’m working on prioritizing. 

I have always been a voracious reader (literally that was the name of my reading class in 4th grade) and I could spend hours not realizing I was still in my treehouse and not actually aboard the Hogwarts Express or on jungle adventure on a deserted island. I never really thought I would venture anywhere too exciting and with the objective of travel for travel’s sake, as opposed to visiting other places based on scheduled commitments.

Well, I’m never going to stop reading because a good story is my favorite adventure, but I am finally going to head out on my own real life adventure and I hope it’ll make a good story for you guys. Waystoadventure is about both and I hope my blog can inspire you to either pick up a new book or book the next flight you can find!

Next chapter – most recent favorite reads and my new favorite place in the U.S.

One thought on “Diving Right In!

Leave a Reply

